G Hotel, Penang

Last weekend, I went on a 3D2N food trip to Penang with my friend and chose to stay at the G Hotel which is conveniently located along Penang’s most famous boulevard – Gurney Drive, overlooking the sea and next to Gurney Plaza.  It was a steal as I booked 1 standard room at RM 290++/night (room only) under Corporate booking! 😉  If I book online via hotel booking websites such as Agoda.com it would have been at least RM100++/night more hehe……

The room is indeed very spacious (38 sq. metres) and tastefully furbished.  We felt very comfortable in the room, with free wifi (but at night the network wasn’t very stable), complimentary mini-bar (both hot & cold) & lovely shower equipment (Aigner shower gel, shampoo & hand & body lotion provided)!  Take a look 🙂

Our twin room

The "open" shower

The other side of the bathroom

Complimentary Aigner products for our use! 🙂

My favourite armchair in the room - best spot to get wifi too 😛

Complimentary mini-bar! Only 6 cans of drinks in the fridge per day tho' 😛

Both thumbs up for the hotel room as well as the amenities!  We also went to level 3 where the spa, infinity pool and gym were located to take a look & they look very cool too.  I took some time to explore the gym facility & it was pretty big with many equipment available for guests’ use.  It was just like a mini-Fitness First, in fact I was pleasantly surprised that a hotel gym can be so well equipped! Hehe…  But one thing that puzzled me was there was no need to show the hotel room key or to identify myself as a guest.  Does that mean that anyone can actually go to the gym regardless of whether they are guests or not? Even going up via the lift isn’t a problem as level 3 doesn’t require one to slot in the hotel room key… hmmm…

The only drawback for this hotel is I find that the service staff are not proactive enough to attend to guests.  This was the first time I was not being advised of the time we needed to gather at lobby for pick-up service to the airport as we had ordered the airport transfer upon booking.  Instead we had to prompt the staff that we had actually reserved an airport transfer service!  In addition when we called Guest Services for assistance, the call was transferred from one person to another & we had to repeat our query umpteen times – they should have communicated to one another when they transferred my call isn’t it? -_-“

Nonetheless I guess I would still want to stay in this hotel again should I visit Penang, for the lovely room & accessibility to the shopping mall & hawker food (Gurney food centre & other eateries along Gurney Drive) nearby, but of course not if it’s the usual room rate! Lol…

To end this post on a beautiful note, here’s a picture of the sea-view I could see from my room. ^^

Overlooking the sea from my room 🙂

Leave a Reply

