Rou Gu Cha King, Gurney Plaza

Rou Gu Cha King (also called Bak Kut Teh King, 肉骨茶王) has changed my perception of how Bak Kut Teh tastes like.:)

I had never been attracted to eating Bak Kut Teh in Singapore although it seems to be one of the local favourites. So when my friend said that she wants to try it out in Penang as she heard it’s one of the must-eats, I told her to go ahead while I eat other food.  However it was already the last day of our Penang trip but she still couldn’t find a place where she could have her Bak Kut Teh while I could still enjoy other Penang local delights.  Hence we decided to check out at Gurney Plaza, & found this Rou Gu Cha King on level 4 (170-4-47 Gurney Plaza, 10250 Pulau Pinang. Malaysia. Tel: 604-228 7187).

Rou Gu Cha King Gurney Plaza outlet

I agreed to go in on the pretext that I would order non-Bak Kut Teh dishes as I saw that there were a variety of dishes available & the prices looked very reasonable.  It was easy for my friend to decide on what to eat – what else other than the signature Rou Gu Cha lunch set.  I took a while to decide & finally selected the Dry Rou Gu Cha lunch set.  Haha so I still decided to try out how Bak Kut Teh tastes like afterall. 😛

The signature Rou Gu Cha (Bak Kut Teh)

My Dry Rou Gu Cha set

It was surprisingly yummy!  The soup base was very fragrant, seemed like they added in many herbs to make it tasty.   It was also slightly spicy but I loved it & managed to finish my bowl hehe.  Of course by the time I finished, I was really full, so there was some leftover rice.  The only difference between my friend’s set and my set was her soup was in the dish whereas mine was separate since I asked for the dry version.  Mine was also a bit more salty than hers since they had to add more seasoning to the dry version to make it flavourful.

Overall, we both thought this was a really value for money lunch set, as each set was only RM9.90+ (about S$4.50 per set), with a complimentary coffee/tea!  The portion was also quite generous, & given that we were having our lunch in air-conditioned comfort,so it was really a worthwhile time we had at this restaurant.  Along Gurney Drive, we actually found a non-air-conditioned coffeeshop stall selling Bak Kut Teh, & the cost was RM15/person!

If I have the chance next time, we would want to eat at Rou Gu Cha King again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

