Penang Assam Laksa

Almost forgot to share my experience at this famous Penang Assam Laksa stall during my previous Penang trip, until I watched the Bryan Wong’s TV programme on Ch 8 last night, which happened to recommend this Penang Assam Laksa stall. 🙂

The Penang Laksa stall at Pasar Air Hitam

This “pasar”, or market as we call it in English, is along Air Hitam and on the way to Kek Lo Si.  So after visiting Kek Lo Si, you may just walk down the long stairs & then the stall is about 5-10 minutes away from the foot of Kek Lo Si.  This little roadside stall is always filled with customers craving for a bowl of the unique laksa, so it will not be difficult to find once you are in the area.

I dun really fancy Penang laksa as I think they are too sour, based on my experience trying Penang laksa in Singapore. So I didn’t want to risk ordering a bowl for myself although this stall is so famous in Air Hitam area.

The famous Penang Assam Laksa

Nonetheless I took a sip of the gravy from the bowl my friend ordered, and ooooh, it’s very different fr the “Penang laksa” found in Singapore! Very fragrant, & I think it’s full of the prawn paste smell. Still have a tinge of sour taste though not as much as compared to those in Singapore. It costed RM4 a bowl.
According to a Penang Chinese elderly uncle who sat at the same table as us, this stall has been around since he was a child.  So amazing, that means it has been around for donkey years! I think it’s quite impossible to have such long-surviving food stall back in my homeland……
7 thoughts on “Penang Assam Laksa

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. That is an extremely
    smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your
    useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

    Like

Leave a Reply

