Westfield Garden State Plaza Mall, Paramus

There was an optional shopping tour on our last day in the United States and of course none of us wanted to miss it when we hardly had real shopping time during the trip! We all decided to pay US$50 each for this optional tour to Westfield Garden State Plaza Mall in Paramus, New Jersey (about 3.5 hours) followed by Times Square (about 1.5 hours) in New York City before check-in for our flight back to Singapore at JFK International Airport.

Some facts about Westfield Garden State Plaza Mall:

1. It is the largest mall in New Jersey with 2,118,718 sq ft (196,835.3 m2) of leasable space on 2 levels and one of the highest revenue producing malls in the United States;

2. Its department anchors are J.C. Penney, Lord & Taylor, Macy’s, Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom;

3. It was the first large-scale shopping mall in New Jersey built in 1957 as an open-air shopping plaza;

4. The mall is closed on Sundays, except for certain restaurants and the movie theatre.

My friend and I had downloaded the mall map on our mobile the night before this shopping tour so that we could plan our route to maximise the pathetic shopping time we would have for such a huge mall hehe. I was excited to see that many familiar US brands such as Bath & Body Works, Easy Spirit, Abercrombie & Fitch, Origins, Hollister etc on the directory listing.

I really maximised the 3.5 hours given to us fruitfully, without any food or toilet break (only when the salesperson went to the store to grab a new bag for me, I quickly grabbed the chance to go to the restroom nearby) hahaha. I also spent almost all the cash I brought there with just spare cash left for 1 last cup of Starbucks hehe. Hence I apologise for the lack of good photos of the mall exterior and interior, except make do with a few photos my friend took outside and in the mall as she went back to the meeting point early.

Outside the Westfield mall, side view :P

Outside the Westfield mall, side view 😛

 

Nice carousel inside the mall on level 2

Nice carousel inside the mall on level 2

Just to share my shopping experience, Abercrombie & Fitch was really quite a good steal as there was a huge sale of up to 50% off in the store, and the items we bought were about 50% cheaper than the price in Singapore! Aeropostale price was even more “ridiculous” in US, with prices as low as US$3.99, and they were only about 25% of the price in Singapore during sale! Easy Spirit comfortable footwear were only about 40% of the price in Singapore. As we don’t have Bath & Body Works in Singapore, it is in a way “priceless” and a must buy for me when I entered the shop lol.

However, there were brands that one can actually buy in Singapore without burning a big hole in the wallet, e.g. Origins and Marc by Marc Jacobs. The skincare products at Origins cost almost the same as those in Singapore as the sales tax in New Jersey is 7% but we can get duty free Origins products at Changi Airport. As for Marc by Marc Jacobs, the bag I bought at Nordstrom turned out to be more expensive when I compared it to the crazy 50% sale in Singapore’s Great Singapore Sale that is happening now…. 😦 I can only console myself that my bag is 20% cheaper than the original price in Singapore haha.

Since I didn’t have time for photo-taking at the mall, I shall end this post with a photo of my 3.5 hours’ fruits of labour there 😉

My purchases from 5 stores - Abercrombie & Fitch; Bath & Body Works; Easy Spirit; Aeropostale and Marc by Marc Jacobs :)

My purchases from 5 stores – Abercrombie & Fitch; Bath & Body Works; Easy Spirit; Aeropostale and Marc by Marc Jacobs 🙂

Till my final post on the revisit of Times Square soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

