Still the Same Old Mido Café 美都餐室

My first visit to Mido Café, a very traditional Hong Kong cha can teng along Temple Street was back in Aug 2009 (read my post back then). Though it was more than 4 years ago, I still remember the good food & nostalgic ambience here. Thus I made sure I made time during this trip to visit the cafe as “promised” in that post! 😛

Mido café at the end of Temple Street, 有怀旧气息吧? ;)

Mido café at the end of Temple Street, 有怀旧气息吧? 😉

It was a rainy Tuesday that I visited the café around 12pm. There were very few customers, in fact I got a shock when I entered the café, where there was no 1 except a staff sitting at the cashier. It felt strange not seeing any customers at all. Then I realised they asked customers to sit upstairs so I went up the steep stairs to level 2 & found only 2 tables filled. I chose a window seat as that’s the Hong Kong “celeb corner”, plus it would be easier to take shots of the old charming café. 🙂

Old signboard just outside my window. Wonder if it has ever been "upgraded" since it started in the 1950s? ;)

Old signboard just outside my window. Wonder if it has ever been “upgraded” since it started in the 1950s? 😉

Feels like time has frozen in this cafe since 1950s with its dated furnishing? Hehe

Feels like time has frozen in this cafe since 1950s with its dated furnishing? Hehe

I had thought of ordering their famous pork-ribs baked rice (焗排骨饭) again. However I recalled that the portion of the baked rice is quite big, so I dared not order that since I had yet to fully digest my heavy breakfast set from Australia Dairy Company (澳洲牛奶公司). After “scrutinising” the menu for a while, I decided to have a light lunch – thick cut butter toast (鲜油多士, HK$15 = S$2.40) with a glass of pineapple ice (菠萝冰, HK$20 = S$3.20).

My simple lunch in an old Hong Kong-style cafe

My simple lunch in an old Hong Kong-style cafe

The thick cut butter toast was normal, & I was a bit disappointed at the serving size for the price I paid. Same goes for the pineapple ice which costed more than my food! Maybe I should have just ordered the famous pork ribs baked rice, red bean ice or french toast. Hmm… but it was still good to have visited this cafe for a small price, to get some old Hong Kong feel like what I see in the movies hehe.

NB: On 6 August 2013, more than 10 men trashed the cafe early in the morning before it opened for business. The gang overturned some tables, then picked up chairs & struck other tables before throwing the chairs around. They also smashed a glass door before running out of the restaurant. Fortunately the 65 year-old owner was not hurt in the incident.

Mido Café details:

Address: 63, Temple Street, Yau Ma Tei. 油麻地廟街63號地下 (about 5 minutes from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station, Exit C)

Tel: +852 2384 6402

Opening Hours: 10.00am – 9.00pm

Leave a Reply

