Hang Heung Cake Shop 恒香老饼家

There is something that I will always buy if I visit Hong Kong, and that is Hang Heung Cake Shop‘s (恒香老饼家) famous 老婆饼, literally “wife cakes”.  This cake shop originated from Yuen Long in New Territories, and it also has 2 outlets in Kowloon and 1 outlet in Hong Kong island.

Wife cake is a traditional Cantonese pastry with flaky and thin skin made with winter melon, almond paste, and sesame, and spiced with five spice powder). It is a common item in many Hong Kong cake shops, but only Hang Heung makes the best wife cake with traditional winter melon paste. The sweetness of the winter melon paste is just right and the pastry of the right flaky texture. I will always buy some back home on my last day in Hong Kong, because the cakes can only last for about a week, so it’s better to buy when it’s the freshest. 🙂

This time round I almost wanted to make my way to the original factory shop at Yuen Long, if not for the heavy downpour on my last day. So I made do with visiting the Mongkok outlet (九龙旺角弥敦道579号地下1号铺, 579 Nathan Road, Shop 1, Mongkok, Kowloon). The nearest MTR station to the shop is Yau Ma Tei station exit A1. I made a mistake to alight at Mongkok station and had to walk for at least 15 min before I could find the shop.

Apparently you can ask for the wife cakes to be delivered to you via a booking hotline, but I am not sure if there is a minimum order for delivery (I guess should have). Anyway I only bought 2 boxes of 6-pc pastry (HK$38=S$6.15 per box) & 1 box of mini 8-pc pastry (HK$44=S$7.10), total cost only HK$122 (S$19.70).

I shall end this post here with a picture of the pastry box (delivery hotline on the box) + a pc of the yummy wife cake! 🙂

值得一吃再吃的恒香老婆饼 :)

值得一吃再吃的恒香老婆饼 🙂

Leave a Reply

