Full Day Bruny Island Tour Part II

The 3-hour Bruny Island Cruise took us through the eastern coastline of South Bruny Island – a round-trip from Captain Cook’s Landing Place in Adventure Bay to Penguin Island, Fluted Cape, Cape Connella, Mangana Bluff, Boreel Head, The Friars, Bridge Rock, Arched Island and Haulage Bay. We also saw a lot of coastal wildlife up close – dolphins, whales, albatross, black-faced cormorant and fur seals!

Wet weather warm coats, beanies and thick gloves were provided on the cruise, and these came in handy that day as it was rainy and cold. I was wearing 3 layers of clothing along with a scarf underneath the waterproof warm coat and didn’t feel “overheated” at all! It was also a nice gesture that at the beginning of the cruise, the guides went around distributing ginger pills to alleviate possible motion sickness. I didn’t take it at first as I thought my anti-motion sickness patch would be sufficient.

Without further ado, here are some of the shots I took on the cruise:

Tails of dolphins

Tails of dolphins spotted!

Yes, within 15 min from cruising out, we spotted several dolphins and even blue whales, moving swiftly in the waters! As it was quite a bumpy ride and the mammals were moving too quickly, I was not able to capture beautiful shots, the above pic was the only one my tour mate managed to get… Later on, I read that it was a rare sighting for the blue whales in Tasmania but since May this year, there have been large numbers of the rare mammal sighted in the waters near Bruny Island. Wow so we were one of the lucky ones to see them? 🙂

IMG_0557

Beautifully-coloured cliff rocks

IMG_0570

We were told to look up to the towering rocks by putting our heads out of the boat

This is the towering "Monument", really tall!

This is the towering “Monument”, really tall!

Water here gushes out like a "geyser", beautiful :)

Water here at Boreel Head gushes out like a “geyser”, beautiful 🙂

IMG_0578

The Bridge Rock

The Bridge Rock

Lush emerald green forest of South Bruny

Lush emerald green forest of South Bruny

The Black-Faced Cormorants!

The Black-Faced Cormorants!

Spot the Albatross (bird) & Fur Seals on the Friar Rocks!

Spot the Albatross (bird) & Fur Seals on the Friar Rocks!

Remember I said I did not take the ginger pills as I already had the anti-motion sickness patch on? It did not seem to work on me with the bumpy boat ride due to the rainy weather. Half an hour into the sea I was feeling weird and had to ask the guide for ginger pills so that I could survive the rest of the cruise. To alleviate my dizziness, I also stood at the back of the boat together with a few other passengers who were not feeling too good. Fortunately it worked for me so that I could continue enjoying the scenic coastline and wildlife. 🙂

We had a healthy and delicious lunch back at Adventure Bay when the cruise ended around 2pm.

Homemade hot pumpkin soup, a gourmet salad roll with Tasmanian Atlantic Salmon & organic apple & raspberry juice

Homemade hot pumpkin soup, a gourmet salad
roll with Tasmanian Atlantic Salmon & organic apple & raspberry juice

After the lunch, it was back to the bus that would take us back to Hobart CBD. Along the way we stopped at the “Neck” which connects North and South Island for some splendid lookout of the island. It was good weather already with clear skies and the rain had stopped. Sadly I was unable to climb the steps up the Penguin Walk and Lookout as the sole of my right shoe had fallen off during the cruise. It was only secured by masking tape so I dared not walk too much. 😦 Nonetheless I took some shots of views at ground level…

Penguin walk & lookout

Penguin walk & lookout

Looking out to Adventure Bay from the Neck

Looking out to Adventure Bay from the Neck

Lastly, before leaving Bruny Island, we also stopped by a drive-thru oysters farm cum bar called Get Shucked where many of my tour mates bought fresh oysters here (half a dozen for A$8, a dozen for A$15). None for me since I am allergic to seafood.:P

Despite the rain, chill, my motion sickness & shoes, I must say it was still a fun and unforgettable day out for some eco-adventure. Next time I want to travel around the island to get up close with the white wallabies as well as taste the locally produced gourmet there!

Leave a Reply

