Queen Victoria Market

The Queen Victoria Market, named after Queen Victoria who ruled the British empire from 1837 to 1901, is the largest open air market in the southern hemisphere, at around 7 hectares. The locals refer it as “Vic Market” or “Queen Vic”. It has been the heart and soul of Melbourne for more than a century. A historic landmark spread over two city blocks, it is a bustling inner-city Market on the corner of Elizabeth and Victoria Streets in Melbourne’s CBD. Visitors can shop for everything from Australian fruit and vegetables, and local and imported gourmet foods, to cosmetics, clothing and souvenirs.

I walked to the market from my serviced apartment (about 20 min walk) on a Sunday where trading hours are from 9am to 4pm and the market was filled with both locals and tourists everywhere. Queen Vic is open on Tuesdays, and Thursdays to Sunday. Friday’s trading hours are the longest from 6am to 5pm, while Sundays’ trading hours are the shortest.

Not sure if it is due to high expectation or the fond memories of my first visit to Queen Vic 18 years ago, I was somewhat disappointed as I browsed through the numerous stalls, mostly tended by foreigners. If not for the sale of Australian products, fruits and vegetables etc, I would not think I was really in Melbourne, Australia. What happened to the very English/ Victorian feel of the market I got back then? Most of the stalls sell similar products. For example there were countless stalls selling UGG boots, all claimed they were “authentic”. I am sceptical about it though. There were also many stalls selling Australian souvenirs like the koala, kangaroo, penguin keychains, plush toys etc. I did not really see any unique stall catching my attention for peddling stuff different from others.

I got bored and hungry so decided to venture to the Delicatessens / Food Court area. Wow it was very crowded as well, but at least this area made me feel more like I was in Australia haha. Almost all the stalls had long queues in front of them so I had a hard time deciding what to eat. In the end I bought a chicken wrap but I did not really like the taste. Should have eaten at other stalls serving toasted sandwiches that had even longer queue. 😛 All the seats outside were taken so I had to stand by the bar counters inside.

After a quick bite, I went back to the fruits and vegetable area to buy some fresh fruits back. Bought 2 punnets of big, sweet & juicy red strawberries back to the hotel to eat, at A$7 (about S$8.20) only, much cheaper than what I can get in Singapore! Guess it was my best buy at Queen Vic hehe…

Fresh red strawberries!

Fresh red strawberries!

I did not take many photos at Queen Vic, even forgot to take shots of the more interesting delicatessen area 😛 All in all, I only spent about 2 hours in the huge market, not sure if I really explore the full 2 blocks, but too many stalls selling similar products just made the walk less interesting! -_-“

Below is a collage to share with you before I end the post 🙂

Different views of the famous Queen Victoria Market

Different views of the famous Queen Victoria Market

Leave a Reply

