Exploring Kuta in South Bali

Probably the most well-known tourist resort area in Bali, Kuta is one of the island’s first tourist developments located in the south near its Ngurah Rai International Airport. The 5km long sandy stretch of Indian Ocean beach-front is a popular surfing paradise for surfers all over the world, and friendly for beginners due to the absence of dangerous rocks or coral. Peak seasons are typically from July to August, as well as festive seasons like Christmas & New Year.

Finally we were given free time on the morning of our third day in Bali. Thanks to the strategic location of the hotel we stayed in (Ramayana Kuta Resort Bali), a few of us actually managed to take a short tour of the tourist district after gala dinner on the second night, & even went for cheap & good massage together.

This was where we had a good massage ;)

This was where we had a good massage 😉

After checking out the look & feel (must not look sleazy!) as well as prices of a few spas in the vicinity, we decided on Kimberly Spa. It is located down the same street as Ramayana at Jalan Pantai Kuta No. 200, Kuta 80361 & opens from 0900 to 2300 hrs daily. I did a foot massage + pedicure (IDR 90,000, about S$9.20) while my tour mates had the 1.5-hour full body massage (IDR 85,000, about S$8.70). One interesting thing to note for the pedicure was, the quoted price didn’t include nail colours, so need to pay extra for that! Well it wasn’t expensive but was somewhat of a “culture shock” for me haha. My tour mates commented the body massage was very relaxing, so was my foot massage.

The next day, after breakfast in the hotel, we first explored the nearby market. It was something like Bangkok’s Pratunam Market, but of a smaller scale. Most shops were selling similar stuff such as beach wear, batik, casual clothing and silver accessories. As the weather was too hot, we didn’t spend too much time there. There was also a souvenir market just somewhere across from Ramayana. We also walked to Hard Rock Cafe & realized there are 2 rock shops just a couple of streets apart. Although I’d usually buy HRC tees when travelling overseas, the designs in the shops didn’t entice me this time & I left empty-handed… 😛

Kuta streets

The main Hard Rock shop at Jl. Pantai Kuta

The main Hard Rock shop at Jl. Pantai Kuta

Despite perspiring profusely under the scorching sun, it’d be silly to say I’ve been to the famous Kuta region in Bali when I didn’t check out its renowned beach? So we braved the heat to get to the beach. I finally get to witness the beautiful white sandy beach that is so popular all over the world! 🙂

A panoramic view of the pristine beach

A panoramic view of the pristine beach

The sand was so hot that I felt my feet were burning as I strolled along the beach. We left the beach shortly after taking some photos before the heat became unbearable haha. Great leisure time passed by quickly, & soon we had to report back to hotel for our last lunch + shopping stop in Bali before we depart for Lombok.

Special mention of the last lunch in Bali, because I personally thought that was the best meal in the “Island of Thousand Temples” where we had Bebek Betutu (Balinese smoked duck with stir-fried curry vegetables, steamed rice, and sambal sauce) at Bebek Tepi Sawah Restaurant. 😉

My new favourite - Balinese Betutu, very crispy smoked duck!

My new favourite – Betutu, very crispy smoked duck!

The plate of Betutu didn’t look very appetising when it was served, but 1 bite into the smoked duck, & you can say I was won over by its crispiness hehe. It tasted somewhat like Cantonese-style roasted duck (琵琶鸭). The stir-fried curry long beans was very flavourful too. The lunch was so nice that I wiped everything out on the plate! OK, I admit, not everything, I don’t fancy fried shallots. 😛

After the delectable lunch, it was souvenir shopping time at the tourist shopping mall – Krisna Oleh Oleh (note the website is only in Indonesian) just across the road. It is a huge souvenir shop selling accessories, snacks, handicraft, beach wear, batik etc with many people in the shop. Not much for me to buy if you ask me, as it’s the typical souvenirs that we always see like key-chains, aromatherapy stuff, soaps etc. I only bought some Bali snacks back home to try.

With that, the tour in Bali had ended & off we headed to the airport for a domestic flight to Lombok. I’d say the more memorable experiences in Bali have to be the Dolphin-watching tour, pristine Kuta beach & the Bebek Betutu lunch. It was a pretty short Bali trip where I didn’t have time to discover more of Bali’s beauty, what a pity!

Leave a Reply

