Haeundae Beach (해운대해수욕장) – The Most Famous Beach in South Korea

Supposedly just across the road from Haeundae Market where I had my street food fix, I didn’t know how I could get lost in the area. 😛 I think I must have took like 1 hour after my wonderful cafe time at Sulbing before reaching the most famous beach in South Korea – the Haeundae Beach (해운대해수욕장) located on the eastern shore of Busan. During my random roaming, I stumbled upon beautiful street art of the Little Prince, as well as the competitive street campaigns by the various parties vying for seats in the 20th legislative elections on 13 April 2016.

Haeundae - Little PrincePerhaps because it was a cloudy weekday afternoon, Haeundae Beach wasn’t overly packed with visitors. Its peak season is from June to August during summer filled with domestic tourists. The beach is 1.5km long, about 30 to 50m wide with an area of 58,400㎡. It got its name from scholar Choi Chi-Won of the Silla Kingdom (57 BC – AD 935) who carved the words “Hae Un Dae” (해운대) on a stone wall when he walked past Dongbaekdo (동백도) off one end of the beach.

I didn’t spend much time at the beach as there’s just too many attractions I needed to cover that day. In any case, I can’t do sea sports so all I can do on the beach is just to relax, chill & enjoy the sun & sea breeze. Here are some photos of this famous beach for your viewing pleasure.

Panoramic view of the beach

Panoramic view of the beach on a cloudy day

Views of the beach - "Of Sun & Fun"

Different views of the beach – “Sun & Fun”

Plenty of seagulls on the beach

Plenty of seagulls on the beach

There were several free camera stands installed along the long stretch of beach, like the one you see in the centre of the 2nd collage above. The free camera stands allow visitors to put their cameras on the stands to take pictures with beautiful backgrounds, but I tried yet couldn’t distinguish what positive difference it made to my picture haha. Anyway, I feel the beach is not as wow as it claims to be, probably because I’ve seen other prettier & pristine beaches out there hehe. What attracted me to take more photos here was the seagulls, because there were really a lot of them here. The sight of them flying around with the calming sea waves as the backdrop makes the beach appear prettier. Just my personal opinion 😉

Have you been to Haeundae Beach yet? If so, what do you think of the beach? Share your thoughts with me please! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Haeundae Beach (해운대해수욕장) – The Most Famous Beach in South Korea

  1. Such a beautiful beach. I went to visit around January time of this year. So it was a little cold. Still, the sun was out and the beach looked spectacular. Can’t wait to go again very soon. 🙂

    Like

    • U visited in Jan? Must have been so cold! I went in early Apr & it was a bit chilly + filled with dark clouds, so I didn’t enjoy as much as I had hoped for….

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

